Phoenix Rising

Vinyl LP (Gold)

Heavy Machinery Records and Music in Exile are proud to present 'Phoenix Rising', the breathtaking new album from internationally renowned guzheng artist and master collaborator Mindy Meng Wang.

Mindy Meng Wang is a versatile Chinese/Australian composer and world-class modern guzheng player. She was born and trained in China, and studied western musicology in the UK before emigrating to Australia.

A contemporary pioneer of the guzheng, she introduces the ancient Chinese horizontal harp into many western genres including experimental, jazz, western classical, electronic and improvisation.

Her work is an important part of a significant movement of Chinese musicians redefining and reinvigorating their musical tradition on the global stage. Her long-term vision is to create a strong voice for young female composers and artists of Chinese heritage, and to create a deeper and reciprocal musical connection between Australia and China.


Side A - Acoustic:

1. Night Storm 雷雨夜眠迟
2. Mother, River 母亲,河
3. Frosty Mountain 冷山雾海
4. Ferrofluid 无穷

Side B - Electronic:

5. Undercurrent 暗涌
6. Activation 异变
7. Stirring Flower 搅花