F|O Points on this item

Ships next business day.

Pianoworks is Eluvium's first solo piano album since his sophomore album, An Accidental Memory In The Case Of Death (2004). Inspired by the quiet thoughts and solitary observations of children - and the evolution/dissolution of that ephemeral, uncorrupted wander of simple joy - Pianoworks begins with a song about children's piano lessons, and culminates with an etude driven by the struggle to hold onto innocence and imagination as adulthood settles in. The record's dramatic simplicity in both execution and expression is with purpose: Cooper wants the music to be simple enough to inspire children and novices to play, and the concept simple enough to resonate regardless of age or experience.

As any minimalist painter, poet, or architect can attest, it is oftentimes the profoundly simple art that proves to be the most time-consuming and torturous to produce. Pianoworks exemplifies this dichotomy, having been recorded, re-recorded, and re-re-recorded in the span of nearly a decade. Cooper exhausted every attempt to achieve a very specific, peculiar sound that is out of time - a sound not entirely lost in an attic, but also one not easily found in a playlist. The process to achieve this elusive sound was painstaking, but it has yielded a rare kind of music that is as uncomplicated as it is uncompromised. 


1. Recital 03:51
2. Quiet Children 04:24
3. Carrier 32 02:49
4. Inherent Mosaic 02:46
5. Transfiguration One 04:45
6. Masquerade 02:42
7. Underwater Dream 04:02
8. Vacuous Plenum 03:49
9. Transfiguration Two 03:37
10. Paper Autumnalia 04:17
11. Myriad Days 01:59
12. Soliloquy & Aside 05:46
13. Empathy For A Silhouette 06:07
14. An Accidental Memory In The Case Of Death (Bonus Track) 03:05
15. Genius And The Thieves (Bonus Track) 01:49
16. Perfect Neglect In A Field Of Statues (Bonus Track) 05:39
17. Nepenthe (Bonus Track) 03:14
18. In A Sense (Bonus Track) 01:41
19. The Well-Meaning Professor (Bonus Track) 07:09
20. Prelude For Time Feelers (Bonus Track) 05:20
21. Radio Ballet (Bonus Track) 03:30
22. Hymn #1 (Bonus Track) 01:23
23. Caroling (Bonus Track) 03:44
24. Impromptu (For The Procession) (Bonus Track) 03:44
25. Entendre (Bonus Track) 04:20

"Pianoworks is Eluvium's most immediately accessible record to date, a welcoming and reflective collection of compositions that meets its listeners where they are yet is capable of taking them to unexpected mental places and moods." Popmatters

"Matthew Cooper's second solo piano record in 15 years glows with a childlike wonder underscored by mature regret." 7.6/10 Pitchfork