Art Blakey’s Jazz Messengers with Thelonious Monk (Reissue)


AVAILABLE FROM NZ SUPPLIER - Ships within 2-5 business days



F|O Points on this item

In May of 1957, Art Blakey and his Jazz Messengers went into the studio with Thelonious Monk to record a one-off album for Atlantic. The Jazz Messengers were a loose collective of young Jazz musicians, with a constantly rotating lineup to keep the music fresh and help launch new careers. In this iteration we find Art Blakey on drums, Thelonious Monk on piano, Johnny Griffin on tenor saxophone, Bill Hardman on trumpet and Spanky DeBrest on bass. -Blakey had recorded with Monk on various occasions, but this was the first time Monk sat in with the Jazz Messengers. This also marks Thelonious Monk’s only appearance on Atlantic Records. The result is a true meeting of the minds, a beautiful union of Monk’s melodies with Blakey’s unshakable sense of swing. This 65th Anniversary deluxe edition includes an extra disc of unreleased outtakes, celebrating the most sensational jazz collaboration of the 1950s.

  1. Evidence (with Thelonious Monk)
  2. In Walked Bud (with Thelonious Monk)
  3. Blue Monk (with Thelonious Monk)
  4. I Mean You (with Thelonious Monk)
  5. Rhythm-A-Ning (with Thelonious Monk)
  6. Purple Shades (with Thelonious Monk)
  7.  Evidence (Take 2) [with Thelonious Monk]
  8.  In Walked Bud (Take 2) [with Thelonious Monk]
  9.  Blue Monk (Take 9) [with Thelonious Monk]
  10. I Mean You (Take 3) [with Thelonious Monk]
  11. Rhythm-A-Ning (Take 2) [with Thelonious Monk]
  12.  Purple Shades (Take 4) [with Thelonious Monk]

Please note that Art Blakey’s Jazz Messengers with Thelonious Monk (Reissue) is currently not in store but is with our local supplier.

Most of the time it takes around 2-5 days from the time you place the order for the item to arrive here and be sent out but it can take longer if there are any delays.