Backslider (Vinyl LP)

Vinyl LP



F|O Points on this item

Ships next business day.

Something of a Soundway supergroup, Pigeon blew our little minds with their stonking debut EP last year, melting down afro-disco, no wave, and jazz into one potent package. This next batch of whizz-bangers again find Guinean vocalist Falle Nioke partying over the top of UK's finest musical fellows; this time incorporating smatterings of electro, synth-work, and rock into their already unmistakeable and jam-tastic sound. Dressed as if they would be equally comfortable starring in a modern spaghetti western as they are cutting slick silhouettes on a festival stage - are Guinean singer Falle Nioke, Graham Godfrey on drums, Steve Pringle on keys, Tom Dream on guitar and Josh Ludlow on bass.

As Pigeon develop and hone their sound further, Afro-disco remains at the core while jazz and no-wave make way for new elements of electro, rock and synth pop. The introduction of sequencers and drum machines sprinkles a little more structure into the mix, however the recording process still very much embodies the DIY spirit of band members that enjoy jamming together.

With their debut Yagana EP gaining critical acclaim, each member has found themselves heavily in demand on top of their own individual pursuits – Falle Nioke is releasing his solo work as well as other projects, while Steve Pringle and Graham Godfrey play in various bands (Michael Kiwanuka and SAULT to name a few). Adding to the creative melting pot, Tom Dream pursues filmmaking and bespoke music composition via his own studio, and Josh Ludlow runs his own record label M.A.D. Records.



  1. Mama Yo Mama Yo
  2. Ikanabore
  3. Backslider
  4. Trust
  5. Infinity