Abattoir Blues/The Lyre of Orpheus

Vinyl 2LP

AVAILABLE FROM NZ SUPPLIER - Ships within 2-5 business days



F|O Points on this item

This edition, approved personally by Nick Cave, is finally available again on it's original format. English guitarist and organist James Johnston joined the Bad Seeds for their thirteenth studio album Abattoir Blues/The Lyre of Orpheus, which was released on September 20th 2004. This masterful double album was produced by Nick Launay at Studio Ferber in Paris in March-April 2004 with Cave splitting drumming duties for the two parts, with Jim Sclavunos on Abattoir Blues and Thomas Wydler on The Lyre of Orpheus. The entire album was completed in twelve days, and notably, the last track on the album, O Children, was featured in the 2010 film HARRY POTTER AND THE DEATHLY HALLOWS PART ONE. The album generated extremely positive reviews, "The first disc is a rock & roll record, a pathos-drenched, volume-cranked rocker, full of crunch, punishment - and taste" while the second "is a much quieter, more elegant affair. It is more consciously restrained, it's attention to craft and theatrical flair more prevalent. But that doesn't make it any less satisfying".


  1. Get Ready For Love
  2. Cannibals Hymn
  3. Hiding All Away
  4. Messiah Ward
  5. There She Goes, My Beautiful World
  6. Nature Boy
  7. Abattoir Blues
  8. Let The Bells Ring
  9. Fable Of The Brown
  10. Ape
  11. The Lyre Of Orpheus
  12. Breathless
  13. Babe, You Turn Me On
  14. Easy Money
  15. Supernaturally
  16. Spell
  17. Carry Me
  18. O Children

Please note that Abattoir Blues/The Lyre of Orpheus is currently not in store but is with our local supplier.

Most of the time it takes around 2-5 days from the time you place the order for the item to arrive here and be sent out but it can take longer if there are any delays.