Hurry Up We're Dreaming

Vinyl 2LP

M83's lush, expansive sound already made their albums feel twice as big as they were, so an actual double album from Anthony Gonzalez and company was inevitable. However, on Hurry Up, Were Dreaming, he doesnt use that extra space to top the widescreen nostalgia of Saturdays = Youth; instead, he fills it with songs that cover more sounds and moods than any of M83's previous work, resulting in a collection of impressionistic moments rather than a grand statement. The album begins with two songs that reaffirm Gonzalez's flair for the unapologetically epic music that makes him a rarity among artists in the 2010s, electronic or otherwise. He recruits Zola Jesus' Nika Roza Danilova for Intro, and her unusual mix of frostbitten edge and vulnerable warmth channels the huge emotions Gonzalez favors perfectly. Meanwhile, Midnight Citys sleek neon tones show just how far hes traveled from Saturdays = Youths ornate sound.


1 Intro
2 Midnight City
3 Reunion
4 Where the Boats Go
5 Wait
6 Raconte-Moi Une Histoire
7 Train to Pluton
8 Claudia Lewis
9 This Bright Flash
10 When Will You Come Home?
11 Soon, My Friend

1 My Tears Are Becoming a Sea
2 New Map
3 Ok Pal
4 Another Wave from You
5 Splendor
6 Year One, One Ufo
7 Fountains
8 Steve McQueen
9 Echoes of Mine
10 Klaus I Love You
11 Outro