Everyone's Crushed




F|O Points on this item

Ships next business day.

‘Everyone’s Crushed’ is the fifth studio album from Brooklynites Water From Your Eyes, and their first on the esteemed independent label Matador. Treading a fine line between spiky, tense dance-rock and chaotic indie-pop, the nine tracks feel unresolved and anxious, reflecting the state of 2023 back at us - Flying Out

If everything's screwed (and everyone's feeling crushed), the solution is clear, right? That's right, it's time to dance, and more dementedly than ever before. On their Matador debut, Water From Your Eyes have their off-kilter sights set on the dancefloor, dishing up twisted, surreal gems to help ward off the darkness.

Life is horribly dark right now. And yet, it is not unfunny. That’s the sentiment that animates Water From Your Eyes on their new album, and first for Matador, Everyone’s Crushed, out May 26. On the follow-up to the Brooklyn duo’s 2021 breakthrough, Structure, Rachel Brown (they/them) and Nate Amos (he/him) find silliness and fatalism dancing in a frantic lockstep, using heart palpitating rhythms and absurdist, deadpan lyrics to convey stories of personal and societal unease. Described by Brown as Water From Your Eyes’ most collaborative record ever, it’s a swollen contusion of an album: experimental pop music that’s pretty and violent, raw and indelible. 

  1. Structure
  2. Barley 
  3. Out There
  4. Open
  5. Everyone's Crushed
  6. True Life
  7. Remember Not My Name
  8. 14
  9. Buy My Product