Afternoon X (Vinyl LP)

Vinyl LP



F|O Points on this item

Ships next business day.

In case you missed the big bold memo that arrived with 2021's Ookii Gekkou, Vanishing Twin are your new favourite band. A spiritual successor of sorts to the futura-retro explorations of acts like Broadcast and Stereolab, the group consists of sonic superstars Cathy Lucas, drummer Valentina Magaletti (Holy Tongue) and bassist Susumu Mukai, aka Zongamin. Their new album Afternoon X, out in October on Fire Records (Orchestra of Spheres, The Chills), expands these already wild horizons into even more experimental and uncharted territory. - Flying Out

Vanishing Twin furthers their exploration of decidedly experimental territories with Afternoon X. Crafted with a playful balance of humour and rigour, with each member embracing the role of the multi-instrumentalist and process, over outcome.

Following a series of line-up changes, Vanishing Twin is now the tightly honed collective of singer and multi-instrumentalist Cathy Lucas, drummer Valentina Magaletti (Holy Tongue, Tomaga, Moin) and bassist Susumu Mukai (Zongamin). Harnessing the diverse touchstones of its members; Lucas’ left-field song-craft, Magaletti’s singular approaches to experimental percussion, and Mukai’s long history in the production of electronic music, the band has refined a hypnotic sound at the juncture of minimalism, kosmische, post-punk, and dream-laden, psychedelic pop.

  1. Melty
  2. Afternoon X
  3. Brain Weather
  4. Lotus Eater
  5. Marbles
  6. The Down Below
  7. Lazy Garden
  8. Subito