Monk's Music

Jazz Wax Records

or 6 weekly interest-free payments of $8.33 Laybuy What's this?

This product is sourced from overseas. Ships within 5-10 business days.


Limited edition high definition premium 180gm vinyl LP repressing of this classic Jazz album. Originally issued on vinyl, the ongoing popularity of LP pressings and repressings has ensured the longevity of this format for years to come. Jazz Wax Records. 2009.

This is a short and sweet collection of some of Thelonius Monk's most iconic and most well-known compositions, under forty minutes in length but bringing together tracks like "Abide With Me" and "Off Minor". 'Monk's Music' is part of Monk's time on Riverside Records and features a roster of excellent musicians making up his septet, including Ray Copeland on trumpet and John Coltrane himself playing tenor; listen closely on "Well, You Needn't" and you'll hear Monk handing over some instructions to Coltrane. A quick in-and-out jazz standard, this one.



  1. Abide with Me
  2. Well You Needn't 
  3. Ruby, My Dear [Featuring Coleman Hawkins] 
  4. Ruby, My Dear  [Featuring John Coltrane] 
  5. Off Minor 
  6. Epistrophy 
  7. Crepuscule with Nellie 
  8. Crepuscule with Nellie [Takes 4 and 5]