The Magic Bridge


Only 1 left!
or 6 weekly interest-free payments of $7.00 Laybuy What's this?
FORMAT: Double Vinyl

FREE shipping in NZ, Australian orders over $99, International orders over $199

Richard Dawson has been a much-loved musical spectacle in his native Newcastle for many years now, a skewed troubadour who sings and plays guitar with a rare intensity and a very singular style. Beguiled northern audiences have long awaited the arrival of recordings that capture Dawson's genius, and it has finally arrived with his album The Magic Bridge, a 10-song collection out now on CD (Pink Triangle) and double 12" vinyl (Box Records). Dawson's music is a collision of opposites, his hoarsely cracking voice suddenly rising to a magical soar that's been compared to Tim Buckley, John Martyn and Richard Youngs, while his battered acoustic guitar veers from stumble to sublime in a way that can recall Sir Richard Bishop or Captain Beefheart. - Roughtrade

A1 Juniper Berries Float Down The Stream
A2 Black Dog In The Sky
A3 Wooden Bag
B1 The Bamburgh Beast
B2 Grandad's Deathbed Hallucinations
B3 Cumberland Rag
C1 We Picked Apples In A Graveyard Freshly Mowed
C2 Newcastle
D1 Man Has Been Struck Down By Hands Unseen
D2 The Magic Bridge

Bonus Tracks
CD1 I Am Not Your Man
CD2 Wooden Bag (Version)
CD3 The Marsh