The Sounds of S.E. Rogie

Vinyl LP

IMPORTED TITLE. This product is sourced from overseas.
Usually ships within 4-5 weeks.



F|O Points on this item

From the West African country of Sierra Leone, S.E. Rogie was a “palm wine" guitarist extraordinaire. With his guitar and smooth baritone voice, an early monophonic tape recorder, and a few pick up musicians, he produced a string of hit records which sold through Africa and Europe. Backing Rogie at the recording sessions was an ever changing band of followers playing combinations of maracas, claves, congas, and an empty box which was struck like a bass drum. These recordings from 1960-69 are the sounds of the soul in an era when Africans were breaking the chains of colonialism. They are the sounds of palm wine guitar music as it left the bars and burst forth on radio and record. They are lost sounds that have been found again and the world of music is the better for it. A co-release with Domino Sound of New Orleans, LA. Licensed from the Rogie family.


  1. Twist With The Morningstars
  2. Please Go Easy With Me
  3. Do Me Justice
  4. I Wish I Was A Cowboy
  5. She Caught Me Red Hot
  6. A Time In My Life
  7. My Lovely Elizabeth
  8. Advice To Schoolgirls
  9. Baby Lef Marah
  10. Nyalima Nyapoi
  11. Easy Baby
  12. Man Stupid Being

Please note that The Sounds of S.E. Rogie is currently not in store but is an imported title from an overseas supplier.

Most of the time it takes around 2-3 weeks for the item to arrive here and be sent out but it can take longer if there are any delays.