Cart 0
Birth Of The Cool (180gram LP) - Flying Out


Birth Of The Cool (180gram LP)


or 6 weekly interest-free payments of $9.82 Laybuy What's this?

So dubbed because these three sessions -- two from early 1949, one from March 1950 -- are where the sound known as cool jazz essentially formed, Birth of the Cool remains one of the defining, pivotal moments in jazz. This is where the elasticity of bop was married with skillful, big-band arrangements and a relaxed, subdued mood that made it all seem easy, even at its most intricate. After all, there's a reason why this music was called cool; it has a hip, detached elegance, never getting too hot, even as the rhythms skip and jump. Indeed, the most remarkable thing about these sessions -- arranged by Gil Evans and featuring such heavy-hitters as Kai Winding, Gerry Mulligan, Lee Konitz, and Max Roach -- is that they sound intimate, as the nonet never pushes too hard, never sounds like the work of nine musicians. Furthermore, the group keeps things short and concise (probably the result of the running time of singles, but the results are the same), which keeps the focus on the tones and tunes. All Music Guide 5/5

Artist:‚Miles Davis
Title:‚Birth Of Cool
Label: Pan Am Records
Cat #:‚PANAM9152237
Format: 180 Gram LP


  1. Move
  2. Jeru
  3. Moon Dreams
  4. Venus de Milo
  5. Budo
  6. Deception
  7. Godchild
  8. Boplicity‚
  9. Rocker
  10. Isreal
  11. Rouge
  12. Darn That Dream

More from this collection



Sold Out