Under Wartime Conditions

Vinyl LP

Remastered and available for the first time on vinyl, Under Wartime Conditions is a product of Martin Newell collaborating with longtime friend and former Cleaner Lol Elliot.

This is the second record in the “Vol.2” batch of formerly cassette-only reissues from this legendary lo-fi band, which continues to be highly influential as evident in the critical claim of the first three records from the band.

This is one of the many Cleaners from Venus formerly cassette only releases from founding member Martin Newell, who formed the legendary lo-fi band Cleaners From Venus met in the small town of Wivenhoe, southeast England began work on In the Golden Autumn in the warm early spring of 1983. One of Newell’s chief problems at this time, apart from constant money shortages, was finding musical collaborators who shared his own skewed pop vision. The absolute opposite of a musical perfectionist, the founder Cleaner believed that great pop was to be had by doing things quickly, in slapdash fashion and by ‘fumbling around in the dark in search of happy accidents.’


1. Summer In A Small Town
2. Johnny The Moondog Is Dead
3. Hand Of Stone
4. Drowning Butterflies
5. Radio Seven
6. Fracas On West Street
7. Lukewarm Lovesong
8. A Blue Wave
9. A Song For Syd Barrett
10. The Winter Palace