Civilian + Cut All The Wires: 2009 - 2011

Merge Records

Only 1 left!
or 6 weekly interest-free payments of $12.16 Laybuy What's this?

Ships next business day.


Stock delayed until early November

Ten years after its release, Wye Oak’s Civilian remains a raw, sinewy punch of a record—bleak and intense and lonely and self-assured all at once. When Andy Stack and Jenn Wasner released Civilian, it marked both the ascension and death of Wye Oak, or at least a version of it. Now, a decade later, Civilian + Cut All the Wires: 2009–2011 delves back into that pivotal record and adds a lost album of unreleased tracks and demos to Civilian’s universe. Cut All the Wires: 2009–2011, a 12-song collection of rare and unreleased tracks and demos culled from the Wye Oak archives, is an extension of the bruised and aching Civilian. Sonic paradoxes abound: the mellow Sinking Ship is preceded by the wall-of-sound grunginess that roars through Half a Double Man. A pared-down acoustic Daytrotter live session of Two Small Deaths dovetails into the jangling Holy Holy demo. The closing lyrics over the frenetic, screeching feedback of Electricity lend the anniversary release its title: “There’s nothing about you that I don’t adore / Show me these rooms / and I’ll show you the way to the door / Walk me through / I’ll cut all the wires and spend my life with you.”


Side A
1. Two Small Deaths
2. The Alter
3. Holy Holy
4. Dogs Eyes
5. Civilian

Side B
1. Fish
2. Plains
3. Hot As Day
4. We Were Wealth
5. Doubt

Side C
1. Replacement
2. Civilian (Demo)
3. No Words
4. Electricity
5. Half a Double Man
6. Sinking Ship

Side D
1. Two Small Death (Daytrotter Session)
2. Holy Holy (Demo)
3. Pardon
4. Black Is the Colour
5. Ten Fingers
6. I'm Proud