Wu Fei & Abigail Washburn



Available from local supplier. Ships within 2-3 business days.

Wu Fei and Abigail Washburn's debut collaborative release is a testament to the connective power of music across seemingly disparate cultures. Merging American old-time music and Chinese folksong, Wu Fei & Abigail Washburn features gorgeous, impressionistic renditions of traditional material from the hills of Appalachia to the prairies of Xinjian province, each tune flowing seamlessly into the next. The effervescent resonances of Wu's guzheng zither dance around Washburn's expressive banjo playing, their voices intertwining English and various Chinese dialects. This album recasts "world music" as music of our shared world, highlighting our shared humanity and the transformative power of song.

Track List:

          1. Water Is Wide / Wusuli Boat Song
  2. Four Seasons Medley: Four Seasons / Dark Ocean Waltz
  3. Ping Tan Dance
  4. Banjo Guzheng Pickin' Girls
  5. Who Says Women Aren't As Good As Men
  6. The Roving Cowboy / Avarguli
  7. Weaving Medley: Busy Weaving / Julianne Johnson / Open Little Hand / Back Step Cindy
  8. Bu Da Da
  9. Ho Hey / Cluck Old Hen
  10. Pretty Bird