Life Of Pause

When Jack Tatum began work on Life of Pause, his third full-length to date, he had lofty ambitions: Dont just write another album; create another world. One with enough detail and texture and dimension that a listener could step inside, explore, and inhabit it as they see fit.

What came before: a rightfully acclaimed, much beloved display of singular pop craftsmanship. Tatums dreamy, unexpected 2010 debut, Gemini, was written while he was still a student at Virginia Tech University. Its equally disarming follow-up, 2012s Nocturne, marked the first time hed been able to bring his bedroom recordings into a studio, to be performed and fully realized with the help of other musicians. There has been a set of wonderfully expansive EPs in between—each hinting at new directions and punctuating previous ideas—but with Life of Pause, Tatum delivers what he describes as his most honest and mature work yet, an exquisitely arranged and beautifully recorded collection of songs that marry the immediate with the indefinable.

After a prolonged period of writing and experimentation, recording took place over several weeks in both Los Angeles and Stockholm, with producer Thom Monahan (Devendra Banhart, Beachwood Sparks) helping Tatum in his search for a more natural and organically textured sound. In Sweden, in a studio once owned by ABBA, they enlisted Peter, Bjorn and John drummer John Ericsson and fellow Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra veteran Pelle Jacobsson, to contribute drums and marimba. In California, at Monahans home, Tatum collaborated with Medicine guitarist Brad Laner and a crew of saxophonists. From the hypnotic polyrhythms of Reichpop to the sugary howl of Japanese Alice to the hallucinogenic R&B of A Womans Wisdom, the result is a complete, fully immersive listening environment.


1. Reichpop
2. Lady Blue
3. A Woman's Wisdom
4. Japanese Alice
5. Life of Pause
6. Alien
7. To Know You 
8. Adore 
9. TV Queen 
10. Whenever 
11. Love Underneath 


Artist: Wild Nothing
Title: Life Of Pause
Cat #: CT-232
Label: Captured Tracks
Year: 2016
Format: 12" Vinyl LP

Track List:

01. Reichpop
02. Lady Blue
03. A Womans Wisdom
04. Japanese Alice
05. Life of Pause
06. Alien
07. To Know You
08. Adore
09. TV Queen
10. Whenever I
11. Love Underneath My Thumb