This album, recorded at Rear House with Jarvis Taveniere of Woods, documents Widowspeak's inaugural year. In a relaxed studio setting, songs born from those first jittery practices could breathe. A trio expanded their modest instrumentation while retaining a sparse aesthetic. The resulting record offers an eerie ambience, at times channeling 1950's jukebox pop, at others, 1960s psychedelia. While garnering comparisons to slow-moving 1990's acts such as Mazzy Star or Cat Power, Widowspeak have defined a sound that's earnestly nostalgic and increasingly confident. Even so, these are songs about heartache. They are songs about homesickness, about longing for pine forests, reckless youth, and dark nights in strange cities.

"Widowspeak's captivating singer Molly Hammilton conjures Mazzy Star's Hope Sandoval but the key to this crestfallen Brooklyn trio is the guitar work. The skill with which Widowspeak assimilates its influences into alluring song structures is what prevents this from being an exercise in tributary." Pitchfork 7.5/10


1. Puritan
2. Harsh Realm
3. Nightcrawlers 
4. In the Pines 
5. Limbs 
6. Gun Shy 
7. Hard Times 
8. Fir Coat 
9. Half Awake 
10. Ghost Boy