Wattstax: The Living World

Vinyl 2LP


Available from local supplier. Ships within 2-3 business days.

To celebrate the 50th anniversary of the iconic Wattstax event that took place at the L.A. Memorial Coliseum on 20th August 1972, Stax Records reissues original soundtrack album Wattstax: The Living Word.These two LP’s are cut from the original tapes by Chris Muth and feature performances by Isaac Hayes, The Staple Singers, The Bar-Kays, Rufus Thomas, Carla Thomas, Albert King and more.


  1. The Staple Singers - Oh La De Da
  2. The Staple Singers - I Like The Things About You - The Staple Singers
  3. The Staple Singers - Respect Yourself 
  4. The Staple Singers - I'll Take You There
  5. Eddie Floyd - Knock On Wood
  6. Eddie Floyd - Lay Your Loving On Me Live 
  7. Carla Thomas - I Like What You're Doing (To Me)
  8. Carla Thomas - Gee Whiz (3:43) 
  9. Carla Thomas - I Have A God Who Loves 
  10. Rufus Thomas - The Breakdow 
  11. Rufus Thomas - Do The Funky Chicken
  12. Rufus Thomas - Do The Funky Penguin 
  13. The Bar-Kays - Son Of Shaft / Feel It 
  14. The Bar-Kays - I Can't Turn You Loose
  15. Albert King - Killing Floor
  16. Albert King - I'll Play The Blues For You 
  17. Albert King - Angel Of Mercy
  18. The Soul Children - I Don't Know What This World Is Coming To
  19. The Soul Children – Hearsay 
  20. Isaac Hayes - Ain't No Sunshine