Studio One Rocksteady

Soul Jazz Records


This item is currently unavailable.

With excellent sleevenotes by Lloyd Bradley (author of the classic book Bass Culture - When Reggae Was King) this album is dedicated to rocksteady at Studio One as well as covering reggae soul and the birth of reggae.

Featuring an all-star selection of artists: Ken Boothe, Marcia Griffiths, Jackie Mittoo, The Heptones, John Holt, Alton Ellis, Dennis Brown and more.

"A superb choice of songs, an essential selection" - David Rodigan


Side A
1. The Eternals - Stars
2. John Holt - Fancy Make Up
3. Cecile Campbell - Whisper To Me
4. The Heptones - Party Time
5. The Gaylads - Joy In The Morning

Side B
1. Marcia Griffiths - My Ambition
2. The Heptones - Love Won't Come Easy
3. Alton Ellis - Hurting Me
4. Wailing Souls - Row Fisherman Row

Side C
1. Ken Boothe - Home, Home, Home
2. Jackie Mittoo - Our Thing
3. Ken Boothe - When I Fall In Love
4. Larry & Alvin - Throw Me Corn
5. Duke Morgan - Lick It Back

Side D
1. Carlton And The Shoes - Me And You
2. Dennis Brown - Easy Take It Easy
3. The Classics - Pack Up
4. Ken Boothe - Moving Away