Stone Crush: Memphis Modern Soul 1977-1987



Available from local supplier. Ships within 2-3 business days.

Memphis has always been a studio town, where making hit records looked easy. An unknown Elvis could walk into Sun Studios and cut a side, while Willie Mitchell worked his magic around the corner at the Hi Records studio. This vast studio ecosystem meant that even when Stax Records folded in 1975, everybody still knew somebody who could get them into a real recording facility. The city’s largest player in the business was gone, but the possibilities that it introduced were not.

Stone Crush is the definitive overview of Memphis’ modern soul scene of the post-Stax years. It’s a collection of funky tracks of hope—from dentist O.T. Sykes, who traded dental work for studio time, to the ad-man who moonlighted as the visionary mastermind behind Captain Fantastic & Starfleet, few of them ever had anything to do with a hit, but across the board, each believed. Like Cato Walker, whose father’s gig as B.B. King’s driver got him an in, and The Bar-Kays’ former costume maker Libra, some had tangential connections to the city’s deep-rooted music scene that gave them a head start on their hopeful path to fame. Over a decade in the making, Stone Crush is an expertly curated compilation of these home-grown slices of Memphis stylings, from roller skate boogie to private press soul to bedroom funk—rare sides whose original copies are considered holy grails by DJs and collectors all over. This collection does more than transport us to a time gone by. It helps us hear what couldn’t be heard then.


A1 – O.T. Sykes - Stone Crush On You
A2 – L. A. - The Doctor
A3 – Tom Sanders - I'll Get To That
A4 – Frankie Alexander - No Seat Dancin'
A5 – Captain Fantastic & Starr Fleet - Keep It To Yourself
B1 – Captain Fantastic & Starr Fleet - Under Cover Lover
B2 – Magic Morris - (I'm) Choosing You
B3 – Sir Henry Ivy - He Left You Standing There
B4 – Sweet Pearl - You Mean Everything To Me
C1 – Morris - Can We Melt The Ice
C2 – J-Phakta - Is It Love
C3 – Cato Walker III - Slice Of Heaven
C4 – Frankie Alexander - Take Time Out For Love
C5 – Greg Mason - What Does It Take To Know (A Woman Like You)
D1 –Silk Satin & Lace - Always
D2 – Kick - Lollie Pop
D3 – Kick - Right Thing
D4 – Libra - Convict Me

RIYL: Stax Records, Frankie Alexander, Captain Fantastic & Starfleet