Pacific Breeze 2: Japanese City Pop, AOR & Boogie 1972-1986


IMPORTED TITLE. This product is sourced from overseas.
Usually ships within 4-5 weeks.



F|O Points on this item

With Pacific Breeze 2: Japanese City Pop, AOR and Boogie 1972-1986 Light in the Attic dig deeper into those sounds of bubble-era Japan. From the proto-City Pop funk of Bread and Butter and Eiichi Ohtaki to the crate-digger favourites Eri Ohno and Piper, the latest entry in Light In The Attic’s Japan Archival Series brings another set of sought-after tunes, most of which have never before been available outside of Japan. Tomoko Aran and Anri, also included in this compilation, are just a few of the artists who have gained popularity in recent years thanks to Vaporwave, the meme-genre that heavily samples Japanese City Pop to create its particular aesthetic.

Pacific Breeze 2 once again feature the artwork of renowned Tokyo-based illustrator Hiroshi Nagai, whose iconic images of resort living have become synonymous with City Pop. Nagai’s urban tropical imagery is a perfect match for the expertly curated tunes, evoking a certain sense of nostalgia for the leisure lifestyles of ‘70s-’80s Tokyo, while simultaneously being perfectly in tune with the current zeitgeist.

Track List:
  1. Pink Shadow - Bread & Butter
  2. Yubikiri - Eiichi Ohtaki
  3. Vibration (Love Celebration) - Kimiko Kasai
  4. Kindaichi Kosuke No Theme - The Mystery Kindaichi Band
  5. Hidari Mune No Seiza - Tetsuji Hayashi
  6. Last Summer Whisper - Anri
  7. Blind Curve - Momoko Kikuchi
  8. I'm In Love - Tomoko Aran
  9. Kindaichi Kosuke Nishi E Iku - Yu Imai
  10. Tokyo Taste - Sadistics
  11. Hot Sand - Piper
  12. Rainy Saturday Coffee Break - Junko Ohashi & Minoya Central Station
  13. Skyfire - Eri Ohno
  14. Kanpoo - Yumi Murata
  15. Harumifutou - Kyoko Furuya
  16. Bay/Sky Provincetown 1977 - Yuji Toriyama

Please note that Pacific Breeze 2: Japanese City Pop, AOR & Boogie 1972-1986 is currently not in store but is an imported title from an overseas supplier.

Most of the time it takes around 2-3 weeks for the item to arrive here and be sent out but it can take longer if there are any delays.