For Dancers Forty (Reissue)

Vinyl LP


Available from local supplier. Ships within 2-3 business days.

Celebrating 40 years since the game-changing “For Dancers Only” Kent LP 001, “For Dancers Forty” revisits the Los Angeles labels that have given us so much.

Like Kent 001 the collection represents the broad church of the Biharis recordings and features soul stompers, Rhythm & Blues busters, girly grooves and heavenly harmony.

Most tracks are new to Kent LPs and there’s a brand new 1966 soul recording from 50s Modern R&B artists Aaron Collins & The Teen Queens. Long-time Kent favourites Jackie Day, Z. Z. Hill and Johnny Copeland are included with some of their underplayed tracks – for Copeland it’s the first vinyl outing for his dancer ‘I Was Born To Love You’. As ever on our rare soul scene, it’s the lesser-known artists who we revel in and there are stunning tracks from the Sims Twins, the Marvellos, the Intentions and the in-demand (due to the Kent 45 being deleted) ‘I Got Love’ by the Other Brothers.


1 Long As I Got My Baby - Jackie Day
2 Down in the City - the Marvellos
3 I Got Love - the Other Brothers
4 I've Got to Win Your Love (For Me) -
5 The Simms Twins
6 My Love She's Gone - the Intentions
7 This Couldn't Be Me - the Sweethearts
8 The Sun Don't Shine (Everyday) - the Saints
9 Tobacco Road North - Tommy Youngblood
10 Stand Up Straight and Tall - Jackie Shane
11 Walk the Chalk Line -
12 Aaron Collins & the Teen Queens
13 I'm Tired Aka Love Line - Billy Watkins
14 Tired of Walkin' - Little Joe Hinton
15 That's It - Z.Z. Hill
16 I Was Born to Love You - Johnny Copeland