This is Street Funk 1968-1974 (Vinyl LP)

Vinyl LP

AVAILABLE FROM NZ SUPPLIER - Ships within 2-5 business days



F|O Points on this item

This Is Street Funk is part of a new series aimed at vinyl buyers who want a genre specific compilation to excite their ears. They will appeal to long-standing, discerning music acolytes and recent converts alike. Two sides of fantastic music, at an affordable price, hand- picked with TLC from Ace and its associated catalogues.

Compiled by Dean Rudland, who also writes the liner notes, This Is Street Funk brings you 14 tracks of hard hitting, heavy funk, and sums up the sound of 70s Black America. A combination of fatback drums, syncopated bass, rhythmic guitars and explosive vocals.

The line-up of tracks includes classics from the Fatback Band and Millie Jackson, dancefloor favourites from Billy Garner and Billy Sha-Rae and screaming organ instrumentals from the Fame Gang and Larry & Tommy.

This is fourteen tracks that defy you to start dancing.


1. Brand New Girl - Billy Garner
2. Mister Bass Man - the Fatback Band
3. Bad on Bad - Chet Ivey
4. Grits and Gravy - the Fame Gang
5. Foolish Man (Part 1) –The Huck Daniels Co (Featuring Johnny Adams)
6. Funky Kingston - Tribe
7. Over Dose (of Your Love) –The Two Things in One
8. Stop! - Camille "Lil" Bob
9. Hypocrisy - Millie Jackson
10. Do It - Billy Sha-rae
11. Mother Popcorn - the Mello Matics
12. Here Comes the Judge - Larry & Tommy
13. Soul Feeling Pt 1 - Eddy Giles
14. Get Me Back on Time, Engine #9 –National Soul Review

Please note that This is Street Funk 1968-1974 (Vinyl LP) is currently not in store but is with our local supplier.

Most of the time it takes around 2-5 days from the time you place the order for the item to arrive here and be sent out but it can take longer if there are any delays.