Amassakoul (Reissue)




F|O Points on this item

Ships next business day.

Tinariwen’s breakthrough album originally released in 2004, now remastered and repackaged with a bonus unreleased track, exclusive photos and brand-new liner notes.

Amassakoul features songs from Ibrahim Ag Alhabib, Abdallah Ag Alhousseyni, Touhami Ag Alhassane.

Tinariwen are Tuaregs, children of a nomadic Berber tribe who have roamed the Saharan desert for thousands of years. Over recent centuries, colonialism has seen the Tuareg’s ancestral territory partitioned into distinct countries - Mali, Algeria, Libya, Niger. This drawing of borders has turned the Tuareg into ishumar, a displaced people in search of a homeland lost to them.

Tinariwen’s music – a blend of West African traditional music and electrified rock’n’roll – speaks directly to this feeling of longing: a sound that critics have called “desert blues”.


01. Amassakoul 'N' 'Ténéré
02. Oualahila Ar Tesninam
03. Chatma
04. Arawan
05. Chet Boghassa
06. Amidinin
07. Ténéré Daféo Nikchan
08. Aldhechen Manin
09. Alkhar Dessouf
10. Eh Massina Sintadoben
11. Assoul
12. Taskiwt Tadjat (Unreleased Bonus Track)