Fear of Death

Vinyl LP
Get ready, because you’re about to feel. That’s what Tim Heidecker warns on Fear of Death’s opening track, “Prelude to Feeling.” And he means it. This is a Serious Album about Serious Topics – a doomed future, abandoning life in the city, and, you guessed it, the inevitability of death – and without a warning, those feelings might just sneak up on you.

Fear of Death is the follow-up to 2019’s What the Brokenhearted Do…, which chronicles a fictional divorce from his wife and the accompanying depression. Just like that one with its morose theme of a contentious breakup, the new album puts Heidecker squarely in the tradition of comedians and actors like Steve Martin, Hugh Laurie, and Donald Glover, eschewing his funny side in his music and leaving the jokes for the screen.

“I didn’t know that Fear of Death was going to be so focused on death when I was writing it,” Heidecker says. "It took a minute for me to stand back and look at what I was talking about to realize that, yes, I am now a middle-aged man and my subconscious is screaming at me: 'You are getting old, dude! You are not going to live forever! Put down that cheeseburger!’"

  1. Prelude To Feeling
  2. Come Away With Me
  3. Backwards 
  4. Fear of Death 
  5. Someone Who Can Handle You
  6. Nothing 
  7. Say Yes
  8. Property
  9. Little Lamb
  10. Let It Be
  11. Long As I've Got You
  12. Weyes Blood, Tim Heidecker - Oh How We Drift Away