Magic Trick

Vinyl LP

Tim Cohen's third solo release, Magic Trick, finds him still fighting off the demons of a restless musical mind. In the 12 songs collected here, Tim traverses a wide range of conflicting moods while somehow always reenforcing his songs with messages of hope and positivity. "Don't Give Up," "I am never going to die," and "Flower" are perfect examples of the upbeat melancholy that has defined his solo work to this point. Joined by fellow Soul searchers James Kim (Kelley Stoltz band), Noelle Cahill, and Alicia Vanden Huevel (Aislers Set), along with other supportive friends, Cohen has taken long musical strides on this third LP, in terms of arrangement, recording, and overall risk-taking.

Recorded at home on the reliable Tascam 388 during breaks from a busy touring schedule with The Fresh & Onlys, Magic Trick captures almost every moment of solitude, longing, and wonderment that passed through Tim's foggy mind throughout his transient 2010.


1. I Am Never Going To Die
2. New House In Heaven
3. The Flower
4. Don't Give Up
5. Legerdemain
6. Sweetheart
7. Season Of Fires
8. Hey Little One
9. The Spirit's Inside
10. Top On Tight
11. Tunnel Of Love
12. I Looked Up

RIYL Anthonie Tonnon, The Cleaners From Venus, Marlon Williams