The Old Grey Whistle Test Cherry Bombs

2LP Vinyl

For over 15 years The Old Grey Whistle Test graced British television screens and would go on to become one of the most incredibly influential music programmes. From its premiere in 1971, through to its finale in 1988, the BBC show hosted countless performances from a number of seminal artists. A remarkable appearance would often help propel an artist from being a mere unknown to a household name. UMC and the BBC have teamed up and created a set of lovingly curated branded compilations which celebrate the show and all the incredible music it featured. Each collection is made up of carefully selected original studio recordings of the many interesting and eclectic tracks that were performed on the show. Cherry Bombs takes us on a journey through all the punk, post-punk and new-wave that became synonymous with the show in from the late 70s onwards and features artists such as Iggy Pop, Ramones, The Jam, Adam & The Ants and many more…


  1. The Runaways - Cherry Bomb
  2. The Long Ryders - Looking For Lewis & Clark
  3. Nine Below Zero - Three Times Enough (Demo Version)
  4. Joe Jackson - I'm The Man
  5. The Jam - "A" Bomb In Wardour Street
  6. Dr. Feelgood - Roxette
  7. Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark - Messages
  8. Ultravox - Slow Motion
  9. Japan - The Art Of Parties
  10. Skids - Working For The Yankee Dollar
  11. Grace Jones - Private Life
  12. Prefab - Sprout When Love Breaks Down
  13. Patti Smith -  Because The Night
  14. Ramones - Don't Come Close
  15. The Cars - Just What I Needed
  16. Eddie & The Hot Rods*-  Do Anything You Wanna Do
  17. The Motors - Dancing The Night Away
  18. Joe Jackson - Is She Really Going Out With Him?
  19. The Cure - 10:15 Saturday Night
  20. Public Image Ltd* - Poptones
  21. The Slits - I Heard It Through The Grapevine
  22. Adam & The Ants* - Ants Invasion
  23. Wreckless Eric - Whole Wide World
  24. Iggy Pop - I'm Bored