Laugh Track (CD)




F|O Points on this item

Ships next business day.

Surprise! If you loved The National's April album First Two Pages of Frankenstein, get ready to have your heart literally explode with the news that they're back with another album already! Laugh Track landed on streaming unexpectedly this week, with the vinyl arriving in November, and features 2022 Bon Iver collaborative single Weird Goodbyes, as well as a title track featuring Phoebe Bridgers. Clocking in at a dozen tunes, this is no afterthought, with these songs workshopped and honed out on tour. In fact, the epic closing track Smoke Detector was recorded at soundcheck, and is like nothing we've heard from The National before. - Flying Out

The surprise companion to The National's April release First Two Pages of Frankenstein, Laugh Track is the band's most freewheeling, all-hands-on-deck album in years. 

If Frankenstein represented a rebuilding of trust between group members after 20+ years together, the vibrant, exploratory Laugh Track is both the product of that faith and a new statement of intent. Revelling in the license to radically upend its creative process, The National honed most of this material in live performances on tour, and captured those invigorated versions in impromptu sessions at producer Tucker Martine’s Portland studio.

Two nights later in Vancouver, the nearly eight-minute album closer “Smoke Detector” was recorded during soundcheck, completing a body of work bristling with spontaneity and vintage rock energy that makes a perfect complement to the songs found on its more introspective predecessor.


1.  Alphabet City2. Deep End (Paul's In Pieces)3. Weird Goodbyes (feat. Bon Iver)4. Turn Off The House5. Dreaming6. Laugh Track (feat. Phoebe Bridgers)7.  Space Invader8. Hornets9. Coat On A Hook10. Tour Manager11. Crumble         12. Smoke Detector