Volume, Contrast, Brilliance…Sessions & Singles Vol. 1 (clear, splatter) (Reissue)

Vinyl LP (clear vinyl with black blue & white splatter)


Available from local supplier. Ships within 2-3 business days.

Clear vinyl with black, blue & white splatter. Presented in an embossed gloss laminated gatefold sleeve with lyrics 

Originally released in 1983 this hugely rewarding record acted as a round up of the group’s career to date and was of immeasurable value to fans. It’s aged well, too. Comprising of A and B sides from their Rough Trade released singles plus extracts from sessions for Radio 1, Capital Radio and EMI Records, this LP contains unique versions of such classic tracks as “The Jet Set Junta” and “He’s Frank (Slight Return)”.

Oddities, and jocular moments run through the album, including John Peel introducing “Fat Fun” and thinking aloud that those Monochrome boys might be having a pop at him. The fact that it includes a wish list of the band’s best songs to this point in their career is another reason to recommend it.

Previously they may had made a handful of slightly-off-target albums, but this 1983 compilation is a front-to-back joy, fast, restless and perfectly sequenced. It plays like a cohesive album

Includes 2 bonus tracks from the February 1979 Peel Session 'Love Goes Down The Drain' & 'Noise (Eine Kleine Symphonie)'


A1 Eine Symphonie Des Grauens
A2 The Jet Set Junta
A3 Love Zombies
A4 Silicon Carne
A5 The Ruling Class
A6 Viva Death Row
A7 The Man With The Black Moustache
B1 He's Frank (Slight Return)
B2 Fun For All The Family
B3 Lester Leaps In
B4 Ici Les Enfants
B5 Fat Fun
B6 Alphaville
B7 Avanti (Ten Don'ts For Honeymooners)
B8 Love Goes Down The Drain
B9 Noise (Eine Kleine Symphonie)