The Smell Of Our Own (Reissue)



Available from local supplier. Ships within 2-3 business days.

Not since The Joy Of Sex was published in 1972 had there been such a wondrously free celebration of sexuality and life itself as on The Smell Of Our Own, the cult classic album by The Hidden Cameras, which originally came out twenty long years ago. These Canadian peddlers of what they were calling "Gay Church Folk Music" could have you crying one moment and dancing the next, and this deluxe reissue only serves to remind us of The Joy of Hidden Cameras!

The Hidden Cameras burst onto the Toronto music scene in the early 2000’s boasting an irresistible combination of pop and queer sensibilities. Playing self-proclaimed ‘Gay Church Folk Music’ a new genre of their own making and songs ranging from haunted, aching ballads to foot-stomping anthems, the band’s outrageous stage shows packed such disparate venues as sweaty dance bars, art museums, working porn cinemas as well as many churches. Fronted by lead singer-songwriter Joel Gibb, the ensemble continues its musical provocations to this day, with Berlin now as its centre of gravity.The Hidden Cameras had yet to release a note of commercially available music when, in early 2002, they became among the most discussed and celebrated unsigned bands in the history of their native Toronto. By the close of the year, they had been the subject of uncommonly sensational features in The Globe and Mail (Canada’s national newspaper) as well as in every daily and weekly in Toronto. The reasons for the reckless enthusiasm of these usually cautious journals was simple: revelatory live performances that attacked and transcended the staid, dispassionate traditions of rock nightclub culture; and the songs of band front-man and mastermind Joel Gibb, a talent of uncommon melodic and poetic gifts. The Smell of Our OwnThe Hidden Cameras debut album was originally released in April 2003 on Rough Trade to tremendous critical acclaim.Deluxe yellow coloured 2LP edition features bonus demos and live session recordings.


Deluxe LP Tracklist

  1. Golden Streams
  2. Ban Marriage
  3. A Miracle
  4. Animals Of Prey
  5. Smells Like Happiness
  6.  The Day Is Dawning
  7. Boys Of Melody
  8. Shame
  9. Breathe On It
  10. The Man That I Am With My Man
  11. Fear O Zine Failure - B-Side
  12. Boys Of Melody - CBC Session
  13. Smells like Happiness - 4 Track Demo
  14. Shame - CBC Session
  15. Day Is Dawning - CBC Session
  16.  The Dying Galatian - B-Side
  17. Heavy Flow of Evil - B-Side
  18. Ban Marriage - 4 Track Demo
  19. Breathe On It - CBC Session
  20. A Miracle - 4 Track Demo