Cart 0
Standing On A Beach (The Singles) - Flying Out


Standing On A Beach (The Singles)

Fiction Records

or 6 weekly interest-free payments of $7.49 Laybuy What's this?

Vinyl LP pressing pressing of this collection, the first and still most popular Cure compilation on the market. Staring at the Sea contains 13 absolute gems spanning their first eight years (1978-85) ranging from the dark, minimalist "Killing An Arab" to the aquatic 'Close to Me'. This set traces The Cure's evolution from Post-Punk trio through the early years of the band's reinvention as gloomy and mildly psychedelic romantics. Standing on a Beach (AKA Staring at the Sea) includes the catchy "Boys Don't Cry" and "The Walk", The Cure's response to New Order's early attempts at electronic dance music. Also present here are the hauntingly beautiful "Charlotte Sometimes", not available on any of the band's studio albums, and "The Lovecats", one of The Cure's more unique and most commercially successful singles. This excellent compilation effectively summarizes the growth of one of new wave's most formidable forces. It also serves as an ideal introduction to The Cure.


Artist: The Cure
Title: Standing On A Beach (The Singles)
Year: 1986
Label: Fiction Records
SKU: 042282923912
Format: LP


  1. Killing an Arab
  2. 10:15 Saturday Night
  3. Boys Don't Cry
  4. A Forest
  5. Play for Today
  6. Primary
  7. Other Voices
  8. Charlotte Sometimes
  9. The Hanging Garden
  10. Let's Go to Bed
  11. The Walk
  12. The Lovecats
  13. The Caterpillar
  14. In Between Days
  15. Close to Me
  16. A Night Like This



Sold Out