Daddy's Highway (CD)


The 1987 debut album from New Zealand indie-pop pioneers The Bats, Daddys Highway has now been re-issued and remastered.

Complete with five bonus tracks from the bands early EPs, this album is full of the haunting beauty and bittersweet melodies the four-piece have become so loved for. One of the outstanding New Zealand albums from the 1980s, from the lo-fi pop hook of‚ North by North through to the gentle drone of‚ Tragedy, Daddy's Highway displays a quietly powerful sound that immeditedly tugs you in. There is a quirky energy throughout - such as Block of Wood - that also glows with shimmering harmonies, whispered vocals, reeling basslines and a sweet sense of despair that is as catchy as it is thought-provoking.


  1. Block Of Wood
  2. Miss These Things
  3. Mid City Team
  4. Some Peace Tonight
  5. Had To Be You
  6. Daddy's Highway
  7. Treason
  8. Sir Queen
  9. Round And Down
  10. Take It
  11. North By North
  12. Tragedy