Beachcomber's Windowsill (Reissue) (Vinyl LP)

Vinyl LP



F|O Points on this item

Ships next business day.

Beachcomber's Windowsill may not have made the biggest splash here when it landed in 2010, but this reissue is just the ticket to getting on board with the wistful wonder that was this debut album from Stornoway. Imagine if Fleet Foxes were British boys, rowing down a river and looking for an excellent spot to picnic, and you’re half way there. Fall in love with wide-eyed single Zorbing (yes, a song called Zorbing) and go from there. - Flying Out

As its title suggests, Stornoway’s 2010 debut album, Beachcomber’s Windowsill, is something of a treasure. Featuring singles Fuel Up, I Saw You Blink and Zorbing, it showed just why so many were excited by the Oxford indie-folk quartet’s arrival - a DIY guitar band unusually rooted in folk tradition. They stood out further with their deft ability to try their hand at most instruments, never shy to experiment while their pure pop harmonies soared.

Warmly received on release, Beachcomber’s Windowsill quickly attained Silver status in the UK and among the many positive reviews, The Observer praised it for having a “real emotional depth that transports their music from throwaway sunny songs to something altogether more poignant and enduring”, while the NME called it “beautifully rendered and melodically magnificent; a Constable landscape of a record.”

The album is complemented by a stunning sleeve by designer Chris Bigg, who has played on the album’s title and their songs about nature by working with illustrations of shells, aquatic life and old maps.

Pressed on recycled black vinyl, in FSC-sourced card sleeve


1. Zorbing
2. I Saw You Blink
3. Fuel Up
4. The Coldharbour Road
5. Boats And Trains
6. We Are The Battery Human
7. Here Comes The Blackout...!
8. Watching Birds
9. On The Rocks
10. The End Of The Movie
11. Long Distance Lullaby