Evol (2015 Reissue)

Goofin' Records


This item is currently unavailable.

Reissue of this album by the alt-rock icons. The third studio album by Sonic Youth, originally released in May 1986 on SST Records, shows the first signs that the band was ready to transform their no wave past into a greater alternative rock sensibility.

"Evol... marks the true departure point of Sonic Youth's musical evolution," says Pitchfork, who place the album in the #31 slot of their Top 100 Albums of The 1980s.

"In measured increments, Thurston Moore and Lee Ranaldo... bring form to the formless, tune to the tuneless, and with the help of Steve Shelley's drums..., [impose] melody and composition on their trademark dissonance.”

RIYL The Velvet Underground, Patti Smith, The Stooges


Side A
1. Tom Violence
2. Shadow Of A Doubt
3. Star Power
4. In The Kingdom # 19
5. Green Light

Side B
1. Death To Our Friends
2. Secret Girls
3. Marilyn Moore
4. Expressway To Yr. Skull