Vinyl LP

Two generations of head-rockers meet on Souvlaki - the second full album from 1993 by Slowdive. Veteran ambient sound meister Brian Eno produced, arranged, and played keyboards on two tracks, but his presence isn't nearly as obvious as it is with U2, which is more of testament to Slowdive's own dreamy 'another green world' aesthetic than to any laziness on Eno's part. The lulling melodic undertow of the group's early eps is present in subtle new variations on songs such as 'Allison', 'Machine Gun' and 'Souvlaki Space Station' but Eno blurs the foreground and background, giving the album a pleasant, swirling mix that's never static or predictable. 


  1. Alison
  2. Machine Gun
  3. 40 Days
  4. Sing
  5. Here She Comes
  6. Souvlaki Space Station
  7. When the Sun Hits
  8. Altogether
  9. Melon Yellow
  10. Dagger