Ongaku Zukan (Vinyl LP + 7")

Vinyl LP + 7"

IMPORTED TITLE. This product is sourced from overseas.
Usually ships within 4-5 weeks.



F|O Points on this item

The first ever international release of Ryuichi Sakamoto's landmark 1984 album Ongaku Zukan, originally issued in Japan on his own School label in 1984. Remastered by Saidera Mastering in Tokyo. The early '80s were a turning point for Japanese musician Ryuichi Sakamoto. As a solo artist, the smash hit soundtrack he had composed for 1983's Merry Christmas Mr. Lawrence, had put him on the verge of becoming a global superstar. Meanwhile he had called a halt to his work with Yellow Magic Orchestra; the influential, globally successful pop trio calling it quits after the release of their 1983 album Naughty Boys. Against this backdrop, Sakamoto descended on Tokyo's Onkyo Haus Studio to record his fourth solo album, Ongaku Zukan ("Musical Encyclopedia") accompanied by a handful of musicians including his ex-YMO partners Haruomi Hosono and Yukihiro Takahashi, and the prolifically talented Yasuaki ShimizuTatsuro Yamashita and Toshinori Kondo. It was on his return to the studio the following year that the album truly began to take shape. Released in August 1984 the album Ongaku Zukan proved a huge success, providing Sakamoto with his first top five hit in Japan. Filled with inspired melodies that showcase his unique gift as a composer, it offers up a fascinating mix of styles. Featuring remastered audio with bonus tracks and new liner notes by Andy Beta.

LP version, includes 7" with two extra tracks: "Replica" and "Ma Mère l'Oye."

Track List:
1. Tibetan Dance
2. Etude
3. Paradise Lost
4. Self Portrait
5. 旅の極北 (Tabi No Kyokuhoku)
6. M.A.Y. In The Backyard
7. 羽の林で (Hane No Hayashi De)
8. 森の人 (Mori No Hito)
9. A Tribute TO N.J.P.
10. Replica
11. マ・メール・ロワ (Ma Mère l'Oye)

Please note that Ongaku Zukan (Vinyl LP + 7") is currently not in store but is an imported title from an overseas supplier.

Most of the time it takes around 2-3 weeks for the item to arrive here and be sent out but it can take longer if there are any delays.