Unfollow The Rules


AVAILABLE FROM NZ SUPPLIER - Ships within 2-5 business days



F|O Points on this item

Inspired by middle age, married life, fatherhood, friends, loss, London and Laurel Canyon, Unfollow The Rules captures Rufus at a crossroads. Ready to tackle new challenges, yet compelled to confront his past, he’s taking stock of two decades of running riot with rules, making sense of how he has matured as a musician and celebrating the contended family man he has become.

Unfollow may be a bookend to 1998’s Rufus Wainwright - which saw the musician hailed Best New Artist by Rolling Stone – recorded in historic studios with strings, woodwind and some of the world’s greatest session musicians, but sonically it’s Rufus at his most focused and distilled. Much of the album was recorded live, often in one take. There is no instrumental excess baggage. Rufus’ resplendent vocals are at both their soaring best and most exposed, throwing the focus on to his phrasing and allowing the melodies to unfold and take flight. Largely recorded at Sound City Studios with a cast which included veterans from Rufus’s debut (notably drummer Jim Keltner), guitarist Blake Mills and pianist Randy Kerber, the sessions were unusually swift.

Deluxe CD features 2 additional bonus tracks.

Track List:
01. Trouble In Paradise
02. Damsel In Distress
03. Unfollow The Rules
04. You Ain't Big
05. Romantical Man
06. Peaceful Afternoon
07. Only the People That Love
08. This One's For The Ladies (THAT LUNGE!)
09. My Little You
10. Early Morning Madness
11. Devils And Angels (Hatred)
12. Alone Time

Please note that Unfollow The Rules is currently not in store but is with our local supplier.

Most of the time it takes around 2-5 days from the time you place the order for the item to arrive here and be sent out but it can take longer if there are any delays.