Temple IV (Reissue) (Vinyl 2LP)

Vinyl 2LP



F|O Points on this item

Ships next business day.

The second solo album from New Zealand's noise monk Roy Montgomery, Temple IV arrived on cult Chicago label kranky - home to the likes of Grouper and Stars of the Lid - in 1996. Reportedly inspired by Montgomery's visits to the temples, ruins, and rainforests of Guatemala, this fan-favourite album features solo guitar augmented by Moog drones, and has just been announced for a long overdue reissue. Amen! - Flying Out 

Few recording artists have aligned the quantity and quality of their releases as well as New Zealand singer/guitarist Roy Montgomery has in 1995. Beginning with kranky's release of the soundtrack for an imaginary film That That Is...Is(Not) by Roy's duo Dissolve early in the year, a series of superb albums and singles have been issued by a variety of labels across the world. Each one of them is a must have. Most recently, the Drunken Fish label released a collection of pastoral drones entitled
Scenes From The South Island, singles have appeared on the Roof Bolt and gyttja labels, and further singles are scheduled with Ajax, Siltbreeze and others.

Temple IV is the first solo recording by Roy Montgomery on kranky. The album was recorded by Roy on a 4 track tape deck and then thickened up with monophonic moog. The tracks on the album are thick with interwoven guitar lines and moog drone, inspired by the Guatemalan rain forests and the mysterious ruins of the temple and ruins Roy visited there.

The long overdue recognition of Roy Montgomery as a crucial figure in New Zealand's musical history as a member of The Pin Group, Shallows and Dadamah, is now augmented by his new recordings. Temple IV will serve to extend and deepen that appreciation.

  1. She Waits on Temple IV 
  2. Departing the Body 
  3. The Soul Quitens 
  4. The Passage of Forms 
  5. Jaguar Meets Snake 
  6. Above the Canopy 
  7. Jaguar Unseen