It Takes A Nation Of Millions To Hold Us Back (35th Anniversary Vinyl 2LP)

Vinyl 2LP



F|O Points on this item

Ships next business day.

Undeniably one of the most influential and essential albums of all time, Public Enemy's second album It Takes A Nation Of Millions To Hold Us Back is getting a 35th anniversary 2LP reissue. Featuring massive tracks like Don't Believe The Hype, Rebel Without A Pause, and Bring The Noise, the album's politically charged messaging courtesy of rapper Chuck D was matched only by Flava Flav's hype-man mania, and hectically innovative production from The Bomb Squad that sampled anything from James Brown to My Bloody Valentine. Do believe the hype, this record hasn't aged a day. - Flying Out

The title says it all. In 1988, when this album was released, Public Enemy's music cut with a wholly revolutionary edge. Rarely has fear, anger, paranoia and anxiety been so masterfully compressed onto a record's grooves. The bomb squad's artistry is the keynote to the hard, lean delivery, while Chuck D's supremely pointed lyrics leave no stone of the black experience unturned. It is not comfortable listening, but on tracks such as Don't believe the Hype, Night othe Living Baseheads and Rebel Without a Pause the listener is left in no doubt that they are facing a fantastically potent force.

Track List:
  1. Countdown To Armageddon
  2. Bring The Noise
  3. Don't Believe The Hype
  4. Cold Lampin' With Flavor
  5. Terminator X To The Edge Of Panic
  6. Mind Terrorist
  7. Louder Than A Bomb
  8. Caught, Can We Get A Witness?
  9. Show 'Em Whatcha Got
  10. She Watch Channel Zero?!
  11. Night Of The Living Baseheads
  12. Black Steel In The Hour Of Chaos
  13. Security Of The First World
  14. Rebel Without A Pause
  15. Prophets Of Rage
  16. Party For Your Right To Fight