PNYC / Roseland NYC Live

Universal Music

or 6 weekly interest-free payments of $10.16 Laybuy What's this?

Not currently in-store. Usually ships within 2-3 business days.

FREE shipping in NZ, Australian orders over $99, International orders over $199

An incredible live album showcasing Portishead's July 1997 performance at the Roseland Ballroom in NYC, where they were joined by a 35-piece orchestra. Re-working a selection of tracks from both Dummy and the eponymous follow up, PNYC demonstrates how the recorded can translate equally well into the live, given a little inspiration and creativity. Drawing on full string and horn sections and turntablist intervention from Andy Smith, they explore live soundtrack angles, lacing the original versions with measures of Lalo Schifrin, Barry Mancini et al. The neo-classical sounds of Glory Box, post rock of Sour Times, brazen brass jazz of All Mine and theremin-led hip hop of Mysterons all comfortably cohabit the same place, managing to re-work and re-charm their way into your sub conscious. PNYC is a class delivery from Portishead, from the arrangement and production to the performance and orchestration.


1. Humming
2. Cowboys
3. All Mine
4. Mysterons
5. Only You
6. Half Day Closing
7. Over
8. Glory Box
9. Sour Times
10. Roads
11. Strangers