Paradise builds on 2013s Imps of Perversion LP by venturing further outside of traditional notions of punk, and diving even deeper into outer sounds. Synthesizers, mechanized drum machines, and samplers play as critical a role on the record as the more familiar squall of Ivan Drips buzzsaw guitar and Chris Bugs vocals. Any noise a band member could make that helped contribute to the records atmosphere of unease was welcome; synth player Allegra Sauvage adds cello to two songs, and drummer/producer Andy Chugg plays trumpet on the title track. The songs lose none of their primal immediacy through the addition of these new sounds, but the instrumentation lends them a maximalist streak as well. The sessions for Paradise were held at the Population Control Center, and the result is the most collaborative Pop. 1280 release to date.


A1 Pyramids on Mars
A2 Phantom Freighter
A3 In Silico
A4 Chromidia
B2 Paradise
B3 Rain Song
B4 The Last Undertaker
B5 Kingdom Come