Don't Fall In Love With Everyone You See (Reissue)

Vinyl LP

Don't Fall in Love with Everyone You See is the first full-length studio album from alternative folk-rock group, Okkervil River. Released on January 22, 2002 on the label Jagjaguwar, it contains the single, Kansas City. Artist William Schaff, not to be confused with lead singer Will Sheff, designed the cover art. The album features an array of instruments including violin, pedal steel, mellotron, banjo, string and horn sections.

The mandolin murder ballad Westfall stems from Sheff's recollections of the Yogurt Shop Murders, four grotesque murders of teenage girls in Austin, Texas by college students, and the subsequent trials. The song was written around the lines "They're looking for evil / Thinking they can trace it / But evil don't look like anything."


  1. Red
  2. Kansas City
  3. Lady Liberty
  4. My Bad Days
  5. Westfall
  6. Happy Hearts
  7. Dead Dog Song
  8. Listening to Otis Redding at Home During Christmas
  9. Okkervil River Song