Wild is the Wind (Verve Acoustic Sound Series) (Vinyl LP)

Vinyl LP



F|O Points on this item

Ships next business day.

Despite the many collections available, it's impossible to get the full scope of Nina Simone's artistic output without diving into her more celebrated studio albums, and Wild Is The Wind is one of our favourites. Opening with a bluesy romp, things quickly get more sombre, with songs like Four Women, Lilac Wine, Black is the Colour Of My True Love's Hair, and the title track each proving to be some of the darker, and most beautiful moments in the long night of Simone's soul. - Flying Out

Wild Is The Wind, Nina Simone’s sixth album for Philips, has all the variety her work for the label was known for—from the minimal title track to the traditional folk song Black Is The Color Of My True Love’s Hair to the banned-on-radio Four Women. In 2020, the album was ranked 212 on Rolling Stone's 500 Greatest Albums of All Time.Verve’s Acoustic Sounds Series features transfers from analog tapes and remastered 180-gram vinyl in deluxe gatefold packaging.


1. I Love Your Lovin' Ways
2. Four Women
3. Lilac Wine (From "Dance Me A Song")
4. Break Down And Let It All Out
5. Either Way I Lose
6. Why Keep On Breaking My Heart
7. Wild Is The Wind
8. Black Is The Color Of My True Love's Hair
9. If I Should Lose You