New Work

Dinner is Danish producer and singer Anders Rhedin. Following the release of his EP collection and last years debut LP Psychic Lovers, the now LA-based artist presents New Work on Captured Tracks.

With New Work, Dinner had a wish to do things differently. I just needed to get back to the approach I used when I was still self-releasing cassettes, back in Copenhagen. I spent way too much time on the previous record. I was sitting in front of a computer-screen alone for seven months working on it, obsessing over it. This time I wanted to work very fast in order to think less. I wanted to collaborate more. I hoped that other peoples presence would keep my perfectionism in check.

Dinner enlisted Josh da Costa (Regal Degal, Ducktails) to produce the album with him. He and Josh worked in the nighttime at off-hours at a studio in an industrial part of downtown LA. The albums songs were recorded on the spot with no preparation time. In-between studio sessions, Dinner recorded and overdubbed material in his apartment on an early 80s 4-track recorder. We did very little editing, we just tried to record what was there. Youll hear a lot of first-takes on the record. The best part of the process was driving home early in the morning though the empty streets of LA, listening to the nights recordings. Because it was such an immediate experience.

The two previous Dinner releases were recorded in Berlin and Copenhagen with mostly European musicians. This isnt the case on New Work, which features performances by Andy White (Tonstartssbandht), Charlie Hilton (Blouse), Rori McCarthy (Infinite Bisous, Connan Moccasin), Staz Lindes (Paranoyds), and a duet with Sean Nicholas Savage. A lot of my favorite music is American. I thought it would be fun to go a little bit less Euro on this one. Im plenty Euro by myself, some might say. I wanted to add a different color.

Asked to describe the sound of New Work after the first listen, Captured Tracks owner Mike Sniper texted: Julian Cope, 60's Baroque Pop, early 70's Canterbury Sound, Japan, Ryuichi Sakamato, Raspberry Beret-era Prince... Need to listen a few more times before anything concrete comes! 


1.Un-American Woman 
2. Don't Belong 
3. Walk Away 
4. Siren Song
5. Marble Eyes 
6. Illusions 
7. Get Real 
8. Copenhagen 
9. Waitin' 
10. Thwl