NAT TURNER REBELLION - Laugh To Keep From Crying – Flying Out
Left Continue shopping
Your Order

You have no items in your cart

Read more

Laugh To Keep From Crying

or 6 weekly interest-free payments of $8.00 Laybuy What's this?
Vinyl LP

This item is currently unavailable.

COMING SOON: There has been a delay from the supplier, buy now to reserve your copy.

Nat Turner Rebellion, the Philadelphia soul-music group release their long-awaited debut album. Originally signed to local label Philly Groove Records, the group is made up of Joe Jefferson (who sadly passed away in July 2020), Major Harris, Ron Harper, and Bill Spratley - pioneers of the Philly Soul and protest music movements.

For their debut track, Tribute To A Slave, NTR channelled the revolutionary spirit of the infamous 1831 uprising, after which the group derived their name. Starting in 1969, NTR wrote and recorded dozens of tracks with only a handful of singles released. Tensions with then-Philly Groove Records label head Stan Watson side-lined the project and the tapes went unheard for decades.

Then, in 2012 when Reservoir Media acquired Philly Groove Records, they discovered the tapes in Sigma Sound Studios archive. Jefferson, lone-surviving NTR member, gave his blessing for the 14-track collection, Laugh To Keep From Crying, which made it's only US debut last year with a limited vinyl-only run. The themes they wrote about are still as relevant today as they were in 1969. Chrysalis Records are now proud to partner with Reservoir Media to do a full Worldwide release of the album, with a bonus track, new artwork and sleeve notes. The vinyl has been newly mastered and cut by Alchemy in London. The packaging is a standard 3" spine sleeve with a 12" insert and the vinyl housed in a poly-lined sleeve.


  1.  Fat Back
  2. Laugh To Keep From Crying
  3. Tribute To A Slave
  4. McBridge's Daughter
  5.  Care
  6.  Right On, We're Back
  7. Getting Higher Together
  8. Love, Peace & Understanding
  9.  Fruit Of The Land
  10.  Never Too Late
  11. Plastic People
  12.  Ruby Lee
  13. Can't Go On Living
  14. You Are My Sun Sign