Captured Tracks

or 6 weekly interest-free payments of $4.00 Laybuy What's this?

FREE shipping in NZ, Australian orders over $99, International orders over $199

MOURN is a very young quartet formed from the friendship of Jazz Rodríguez Bueno and Carla Pérez Vas—both born in 1996 in El Maresme, Catalonia, Spain. The duo armed themselves with inspiration from PJ Harvey, Patti Smith, Sebadoh and Sleater Kinney and began writing material, which they quickly released, raw and acoustic, on their YouTube channel. These recordings caught the attention of their homelands record label SONES. Despite being teenagers, earlier this year they came out of the studio (along with a couple new recruits—drummer Antonio Postius and bassist Leia Rodríguez) with a brilliant treatise of indie rock that has stunned those who have had the opportunity to hearit.

Jazz (18), Carla (18), Leia (15) and Antonio (18) came together to present these tracks with an authenticity and self-awareness beyond their age. The debut LP was recorded live in the studio in two days, proof of which is in their videos for singles Otitis and Your Brain Is Made of Candy. Both tracks perfectly capture the bands affinity for the brevity of the Ramones with the lyrical and melodic sophistication of the Pixies. The LP managed to capture a maturity beyond their 15-19 years, while also containing that rare lightning in a bottle quality of youth. The bands self-written motto states Four nerds playing music and shit at the doors of hell. Thankfully for us, this moment was documented and we have the self-titled debut to enjoy for years to come.

Review on Pitchfork

Review on Stereogum

Artist: Mourn
Label:Flying Nun Records
Cat #: FN555
Year: 2015
Formats: 12" LP, LP+7", CD + Digital


  1. Your Brain Is Made of Candy
  2. Dark Issues
  3. Phillipius
  4. Misery Factory
  5. Otitis
  6. You Dont Know Me
  7. Marshall
  8. Squirrel
  9. Jack
  10. Silver Gold


Based on 1 review Post Your Review