Texas Twister (Reissue) (Vinyl LP)

Vinyl LP

AVAILABLE FROM NZ SUPPLIER - Ships within 2-5 business days



F|O Points on this item

A masterful funky jazz album by one of the godfathers of acid jazz. Produced by Bob Porter, Texas Twister was a continuation of Sparks’ sought-after work at Prestige. The Texas-born guitarist had joined Bob Weinstock’s label at Porter’s request in 1970 after several years working with the likes of Jack McDuff, Lou Donaldson and Reuben Wilson. At Prestige, he recorded three albums as a leader and over a dozen as a session player, showing himself to be a wizard at playing funky licks and energised solos.

When Porter left to set up Eastbound Records in Detroit - as a branch of Westbound Records - Sparks followed, recording Texas Twister in 1973 as his label debut. The incredible rhythm section of Idris Muhammad (drums), Sonny Phillips (electric piano), Caesar Frazier (organ) and Wilbur Bascombe (bass) make this album a sure-fire funk bomb. On the front-line, a hard hitting horn section that includes Cecil Bridgewater (tenor sax) and John Faddis (trumpet) are a perfect foil for Sparks. The album includes the monster acid jazz club cut Whip! Whop! and the frenetic Texas Twister, as well as a beautiful rendition of the Four TopsAin't No Woman (Like The One I Got).

After Porter left Eastbound, Sparks recorded the more soul-based '75 and began to record another album that languished in the vaults for decades. He then mostly concentrated on session work before he was rediscovered by the acid jazz scene in the late 80s, when he was brought over to Europe to tour as part of the BGP All-Stars. This late revival saw him record five further albums of funky blues-drenched jazz funk.

Ace Records now offer you the first-ever UK reissue of this album, that should take pride of place in anyone’s collection of 70s jazz funk.


1. Whip! Whop! 
2. Gathering Together
3. Judy's Groove
4. Texas Twister 
5. Ain't No Woman (Like The One I Got)
6. I Want To Talk About You 
7. Star In The Crescent 

Please note that Texas Twister (Reissue) (Vinyl LP) is currently not in store but is with our local supplier.

Most of the time it takes around 2-5 days from the time you place the order for the item to arrive here and be sent out but it can take longer if there are any delays.