Miss Colombia




F|O Points on this item

Ships next business day.

Miss Colombia is Lido Pimienta's follow-up to La Papessa, which was awarded the Polaris Music Prize in 2017.

The Colombian-born, Toronto-based global beats trailblazer recorded the album in her home studio, with some additional recording done in the historic Colombian town of San Basilio de Palenque. Miss Colombia boasts 11 new and original songs that boldly celebrate Lido’s ecstatic musical hybridity of electronic meets cumbia, and is at once defiant and delicate, exploratory and confrontational. All the songs were written and arranged by Lido, and she co-produced the album with Matt Smith aka Prince Nifty.

Musically it digs deeply into the history of Afro-Latin musics, from Palenque to cumbia - styles that Lido embraced after being introduced to Sexteto Tabala, one of the most representative musical expressions of the African communities in Colombia (who are also featured on the album). The album also features Bomba Estereo’s Li Saumet. Lido has an affinity for acts like A Tribe Called Red and Inuk throat singer Tanya Tagaq, but her work also resonates with British-Sri Lankan rapper MIA and she draws unabashed inspiration from the New York-bred Dominican-Trinidadian rap queen Cardi B.

RIYL - Cardi B, MIA, Bjork


1. Para Transcribir (SOL)
2. Eso Que Tu Haces
3. Nada (feat. Li Saumet)
4. Te Queria
5. No Pude
6. Coming Thru
7. Quiero Que Me Salves (preludio feat. Rafael Cassiani Cassiani)
8. Quiero Que Me Salves (feat. Sexteto Tabala)
9. Pelo Cucu
10. Resisto Y Ya
11. Para Transcribir (LUNA)