The Black Album

Vinyl 2LP

At 83 years of age, Lee Scratch Perry is proud to present to the world his next full-length solo album (with Dub versions).

Over 2017 and 2018, Lee Scratch Perry reunited with producer and mixer Daniel Boyle to start work on their second solo album project for Lee.

Lee’s brief for the album was to blend the vintage and the obscure. During the sessions, Lee referred to the sound and ‘black’ and wanted space, light and darkness in the songs and their respective Dub versions. The result sees Lee having mixed up an analogue concoction of ultra-rare effects, sonic wizardry and deep, heavy roots rhythms.


A1. Mr Brown In Town
A2. Mr Brown Dub
A3. Trendsetter
A4. Trendsettting Dub
B1. Your Shadow Is Black
B2. Your Shadow Is Dub
B3. Dead Meat
B4. Dead Meat Dub
C1. Dub At Abbey Road
C2. Abbey Road Version
C3. Bumpy Road Of Life
C4. Bumpy Dub
C5. Captain Perry
D1. Captain Dub
D2. Killing Dancehall Softly
D3. Killing Version
D4. Solid State Communication
D5. Solid State Dub