Open the Gate (Reissue)

Vinyl 3LP (Limited Orange Coloured Vinyl)


Available from local supplier. Ships within 2-3 business days.

*** Limited editions of 2500 individually numbered copies on orange coloured vinyl. ***

The Jamaican dub pioneer Lee “Scratch” Perry had the ability to attract some of the best musicians around to indulge in their fantasies. He knew how to draw the best out of those who wandered by their studios. The 1989 compilation album Open The Gate is a collection of the 12” versions Lee Perry did in the late Black Ark period. For the recordings, he gathered some of the best singers of the island, including Anthony “Sangie” Davis, The Heptones, Leroy Sibbles, The Diamonds, The Congos, Junior Murvin and of course Perry's studio band The Upsetters amongst others.


1. Anthony 'Sangie' Davis & Lee Perry - Words
2. Devon Irons & Dr. Alimantado - Vampire
3. The Heptones & The Upsetters - Babylon Falling Version
4. The Heptones & The Upsetters - Mistry Babylon Version
5. Leroy Sibbles - Garden of Life
6. Carlton Jackson - History
7. Junior Delgado - Sons of Slaves
8. Watty Burnett - Open the Gate
9. The Mighty Diamonds & The Upsetters - Talk About It Yama-Ky
10. Eric Donaldson - Cherry Oh Baby
11. Watty Burnett - Rainy Night in Portland
12. Horace Smart & The Upsetters - Ruffer Ruff Ruffer Dub
13. The Congos - Neckodeemus
14. The Twin Roots - Know Love
15. Lee Perry - City Too Hot
16. Lee Perry - Bionic Rats
17. Junior Murvin - Bad Weed